2016 F150 Coyote Swap in a 67 Mustang Fastback - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By tjm73

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old 06-28-2018, 12:49 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
2016 F150 Coyote Swap in a 67 Mustang Fastback

I’m new to the coyote world, currently building a 67 Mustang fastback (just took off of the rotisserie), and picked up a super low mileage 2016 F150 coyote. Next step is to get it to fit between the shock towers, and prep the engine for install. Looking for info on parts needed for the install and any key points that would make life easier as I attempt my fist coyote swap. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 06-28-2018, 02:23 PM

Trader Feedback: (9)
Familiarize yourself with the differences between the 2015+ coyote from a Mustang as opposed to one from a F150

post #3 of 24 Old 06-29-2018, 10:15 AM Thread Starter

Didn’t realize there was a different firing order... So it looks like I need to replace the cams, front cover, and oil pump gears. Any key points for the cam replacement? Are there any bolts that need to be replaced?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 24 Old 06-29-2018, 10:26 AM

Trader Feedback: (1)
I've read that your tuner can change the firing order in the electronics if you want to retain the truck firing order/cams. Truck firing order is the same as the 302/351W BTW.
post #5 of 24 Old 06-29-2018, 12:51 PM

Get yourself the service manual, the one from Ford, it will tell you which bolts need to be replaced and which ones can be retained. It also has wiring diagrams. It's possible that the timing order differences are taking into account by the engine wiring harness (if your engine came with the engine harness). You'll need to buy both the Mustang and F150 manuals to compare though. It might be easier to just swap in Mustang cams and engine harness (if different) though.