Magnaflow X-Pipe Installed...I have a Slight Leak...Need Advice - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 05-08-2002, 09:06 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
Magnaflow X-Pipe Installed...I have a Slight Leak...Need Advice

I had my dealership install the X-pipe today and it sounds AWSOME...whoever said this combo does not work with Flowmaster 2 Chambers has not really heard it...

Anyway, I have a slight leak on the drivers side flange. The pipe is actually too large for the flange, and air is escaping.

My installer says that it will seal itself in a day or two after the pipe goes through a few heat/cool cycles. If it does not, he says that he will grind some off the edge that is causing the problem, and it will be all good.

My question is, is it likely that it will seal?

Also, should I let him gring some, or send the pipe back to the distrubutor. I am new to the h-pipe deal...

I put in a new Ford gasket on the pass. side and all is well there.

Any and all advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
~Darren

MR MCF
The Millennium Horse:

2000 DaSilva Prepped Vortech'd GT
366rwhp --- 363rwtq

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 05-08-2002, 09:50 PM Thread Starter

No one here has ever had an exhaust leak?
A lil' help please gents.
~Darren

post #3 of 5 Old 05-08-2002, 09:54 PM
Corral Elite Member

SilverStallion:

A driver's side leak is kind of uncommon -- most of us have a tough time with the passenger's side (new gasket or not). For the +99 models, isn't there a bell-shaped insert that is supposed to go inside the driver's side pipe?? (Maybe I read that about the VRS pipe? I'm old so pardon my faulty RAM).