4.30 gear install Q's - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 04-12-2002, 02:19 AM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
Question 4.30 gear install Q's

Hello all,

I have had the 4.30's in my closet waiting for a spare time opening to throw them in and it is driving me crazy. Finally I have some time and I was wondering where I can get some install tips and instructions for the install. I will be doing the install myself because the speed shops want too much money for the job and I'm a poor college student) I am not experienced in gear swaps and will be working under jack stands but have air tools. Are there any special tools I need to buy for this application or am I crazy to even try and take it on? Any info and opinions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks and God Bless.

<{{{<<

Gabe

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 04-12-2002, 05:39 AM

You will need alot of tools do it right. Dial indicator with magnetic base, bearing puller, Hydraulic press, Torque wrench, etc. You can get away without the hydraulic press but you need everything else.

www.superstallions.com and the corral have tech articles on installing gears. If you have the tools or can get them, you can do it, if not pay someone to do it.

James

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
The Internet's 1st Mustang Enthusiasts Club
post #3 of 12 Old 04-12-2002, 10:59 AM

They are really hard to shim right and if you don't get the pinion depth exactly right your going to get a howling noise. Where do you live? Myabe someone can tell you of a cheap mechanic to put them in for you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 Old 04-12-2002, 02:49 PM Thread Starter

Psycho-Stallion,