351 Cleveland Cylinder Head Question / Opinions - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Tom.S760
  • 1 Post By tjm73
  • 1 Post By CDW6212R
  • 1 Post By toddturbo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 05-10-2019, 04:44 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
351 Cleveland Cylinder Head Question / Opinions

I have an 89 coupe roller that's setup for racing (tubular k-member, fuel cell/system for carb, original 5-speed, etc....)

I am thinking of putting a 351 Cleveland motor in it? Its an original '71 351C CJ with 4V heads. If I go this route, I am going to rebuild it, as at this point I have 0 money in it.

I have a brand new set of original aluminum Trick Flow High Ports that are stage 2 ported with upgraded springs, retainers and keepers.

My question is, would these heads be good enough to make good naturally aspirated power over the reworked cast heads?

I have no experience with the High Ports, just understand they are a good cylinder head on the windsors.

All opinions are welcome!

jdomke1 likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 05-13-2019, 04:15 PM Thread Starter

Anybody? Anything?

post #3 of 13 Old 05-13-2019, 04:38 PM

Trader Feedback: (1)
I would think the modern design aluminum Trick Flow High Port heads would be superior to the 40 year old iron 351C 4V heads in every way. Would be a no brainier to me. I'd run the TF heads. If I didn't have a car to restore with the Cleveland heads I'd sell them to a numbers matching restoration guy.
Tom.S760 likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old 05-13-2019, 05:18 PM

Trader Feedback: (3)
The High Ports are for any 8.2(302) or 9.5(351W) block, and won't work on a 9.2" Cleveland block. So I gather you're talking about installing either the rebuilt Cleveland, or building another engine using the HP heads. That's an apples and oranges question.