Fan problem, possibly CCRM, and other mysteries - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 04-03-2003, 12:21 AM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
Question Fan problem, possibly CCRM, and other mysteries

I will try to be brief, thanks in advance for any help. I'm new at working on modern cars, so please bear with me.

I had an issue with my fan not coming on (at all). So after some searches I decided to wire a manual switch to the fan for a temporary fix. The fan itself did work fine and the temp fix worked.

The pigtail was very brittle and shows some signs of melting around the ground lead. I cut it off tonight and I will be replacing it tomorrow. I did attach some tempory leads to the fresh wire and to the connections to the fan for testing purposes.

I checked the 60 amp fan fuse and it is fine.

I went to the Ford dealer and purchased a CCRM and put it in.

Still nothing.

One thing I discovered on this car (I bought it with the built motor and custom parts) is a disconnected electrical plug. It is the last lead just before the CCRM and coolant bottle connections. It is round with 4 pins inside. I cannot find anything that it mates to. Is it ,or maybe I should say "it is" possible, with all the aftermarket stuff that this is no longer used, or am I missing something? I can post a pic of it if needed.

On a side note, when trying to get the car to temperature for testing, and it did get very hot before I shut it down, the car was venting at high pressure into the overflow bottle, in addition, there was coolant coming out of a small hole at the top center of the water pump slightly. Is this a vent? Or is the pump needing replacement as well?

One thing I have not tested is the ECT sensor in the intake or even touched. Maybe I should have done this first. Am I correct?