3Likes
  • 1 Post By toddturbo
  • 1 Post By qtrracer
  • 1 Post By Leadsled Coupe

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 Old 04-24-2016, 10:59 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
Which fan controller?

I bought the dorman contour fans from rock auto. The DCC is out of the question. Flex a lite has controllers ranging from $75 to $175. The dakota digital looks good but at $120 plus the $30 relay you need. Then i need to buy all the wiring. Im new at this and want to buy everything i need all at once. My head is spinning someone's gotta point me in the right direction.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 Old 04-24-2016, 11:36 PM

Trader Feedback: (2)
Garage
Flex A Lite controllers are largely junk from what I have tested. They will run your fan, but are poor designs. Their soft start controller is not soft start at all, it is a solid state switch that switches hard. Their PWM controller runs at such a low switch mode frequency it just hammers the fan motor and the electrical system.

If you want one, I have two.

I have not tested a Dakota Digital. I have Derale controllers in my car. One runs my water pump, one runs my fan.

Relays are cheap if you stay away from car parts vendors. I have all the relays you need for about $5 each, or you can buy them from Mouser. You can also get them from McMaster Carr, but more expensive.

I expect the Dakota Digital might possibly be a good unit, but I have not tested one.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
89 LX. 363, single turbo, Super Vic EFI, TFS high port heads by TEA, solid roller, glide. Holley HP EFI. (exact combo varies)
post #3 of 31 Old 04-25-2016, 07:57 AM Thread Starter

Do you have part #'s for the derale?? And is it a complete package or would i need more stuff??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 31 Old 04-25-2016, 08:21 AM

Trader Feedback: (11)