Intake Question - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 09-13-2004, 08:35 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
Intake Question

I have an gen 2 lightning. i just bought a 89 bronco with a 351. I hate to hijack the forum, but will a gen 1 intake fit on my truck or even be worth my time to mes with. Thanks yall.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 09-13-2004, 11:49 PM

Trader Feedback: (16)
im not too good with broncos, but i dont see why not... check out www.nloc.net someone else on there has put a gen 1 lightning motor in a bronco before..

1979 F150 351m
1994 Cobra
2012 5.0 6 speed
2005 Harley Night Train
post #3 of 7 Old 09-14-2004, 11:34 AM Thread Starter

Thanks man
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 09-15-2004, 09:45 PM

Do some looking on the National Lightning Owners site, also look in ford truck enthusiasts and Full Size Broncos websites as well.

I started a thread on one of those some time back about useing the efi car style intake on my Bronco.

It'll work!

I was going to run the car style, but do to other priorities (time) I decided to wait untill later since I was already doing so much work with my new engine and making so many changes and had so much detail work to do already.

Firstly, EGR in the Bronco draws exhaust from pass. side exhaust manifold. On the cars it comes up through the intake. Not sure exactly how, but I'd guess just comes up through the exhaust crossover since my E'brock Performer base had a hole from that passage and the lower can be used with the truck or car uppers.

I thought about useing the GT40 intake, but read some issues about the base needing work so I decided to just go with the E'brock since I would be able to re-use the base and switch just the upper later if I still chose to.