Affordable Exhaust? - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 09-18-2002, 10:46 AM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
Lightbulb Affordable Exhaust?

I am a poor college student looking to go fast for cheap. I was wondering what are the most affordable exhaust components for the lightning. I know you can get summit (Flowtech?) headers for the 351 for 160.00, or mac equal length shortys for 230.00. I also know you can get off road x-h-pipes for it as well...I do not know who makes them, or how much they cost. I do not want to spend 600.00 for a cat back system, so does anyone know of a more affordable system? I also wonder if it might be cheaper to have a muffler shop custom bend an exhaust from the headers back...How much would that run me? Any info on your experiences would be appreciated.
Thanks, Zach

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 09-18-2002, 03:30 PM

I have Bassani components, and love them, but it does cost a lot. I believe I bought my equal-shorty headers for $240, the high-flow catpipe for $400, and I bought a used custom catback for $350 (it cost him $600 to make though). A custom exhaust could be cheaper, or more expensive. My catback is dual stainless steel 2.5" tubes, with dual Dynomax Ultra-Flo stainless steel mufflers, and all mandrel bends, exits in front of the rear wheel. That'd be more expensive to make. Any exhaust shop can whip one up for cheap, but it won't have the quality, or performance, of bought ones.