Ford Mustang Forums banner

broken springs - what direction should I go?

690 views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  qtrracer 
#1 ·
Hi all,

So I'm in the middle of a 5 lug / big brake swap right now... and I just noticed that BOTH front springs where / are broken. About 1 coil exactly on each side. Both springs are the same height now.

I'm not 17 any more, so my common sense says, buy new springs instead of trying to get away with it. What do you guys think? I always hear of people lowering their cars by this, but that'd mean I'd have to do something out rear?

If I'm going the replacement route, should I stick with stockers, or upgrade to the 'next level' while I have it all apart.

This car is a weekend car, and does autocross (eventually it will do it again).

What do you guys think?

Charlie

#2 ·
I'm far from an expert... but...

What condition are your struts/shocks in? Typically if you're going to lower your car, you need to replace these too. (Guess a certain amount of lowering would be acceptable... others would know better) I like H&R stuff and had their Super Sport springs on my old '88 along with Bilstein dampers.

Might cost more than you were planning on spending... but so long as you have everything apart you might as well figure out an nice "drop in replacement" upgrade while you're at it. Or go gonzo with coil overs and god knows what else! ;)

#3 ·
The shocks are and struts are BEAT. I was hoping to get away with them for a bit longer, but if I buy new springs that need new struts, so be it.

I'm thinking I should bump up the performance since I'm already spending the money, but not really sure what to get and what is needed for it.

Also to note, I'll be running 17x9 up front, so anything I should replace, needs to be compatible with that situation.

#4 ·
If it were my car, I'd give the springs a thorough flotation test (throw 'em in the nearest pond -- if they float, they're good to go!)