Ford Mustang Forums banner

Racing seats: Cloth or Vinyl/Leather?

11K views 26 replies 10 participants last post by  2k2GT 
#1 ·
Cloth or vinyl the prices are the same, but was wondering how durable and "slide resistant" the vinyl would be.

What are your choices and experiences? Since i've been driving my car more, the craptacular faded out to BROWN Corbeau CR1's are starting to piss me off. I'm wanting to go with an entry level fixed back seat. I'm just undecided on the fabric.

Thanks

#3 ·
I have no tech or experience here so I'll just have to throw in my completely irrelevant opinion here. I would say cloth for sure. It would seem that you would be sliding around like crazy on vinyl. As a added bonus the vinyl would get hotter between sessions, which would keep you hotter and lead to the oh so nice sweaty a$$ crack or swamp a$$.

#7 ·
I'd just be worried about the vinyl cracking like you see ALL Mustangs leather seats on the drivers side bolsters. I've always thought stock Mustang seats look like absolute garbage after about 50,000 miles will all the cracks everywhere.

Looks like there is interest in my old CR1's here locally, so hopefully that'll happen and offset the purchase price enough that I can get a seat back brace like I hoped.

#8 ·
I understand Corbeau changed the cloth in the last year or so to something more durable.How old are your seats?I wonder if you could get new covers?I've got the "new improved cloth" CR1s and so far so good.

#9 ·
Since I'm an instructor at TWS, I've ridden in and driven a LOT of different kinds of cars on the track.

Leather seats are the worst, especially of the owner has cared for them by slathering them with some kind of leather conditioner. Very slippery.

Vinyl is almost as bad -- though the hotter it gets, the grippier it gets. The fact that most real vinyl seating is found on '60's and 70's seats with no lateral support doesn't help things though.

"Pleather" (artificial leather,) is about the same as vinyl.