Ford Mustang Forums banner

What stall speed

3K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  TomR 
#1 ·
Going with a circle d converter, but still unsure of what stall speed to go with.

Cars set up is the following: stock bottom end 2v, On3 kit with borg warner s366, 4r70, 3.73 rear gear, and tire will be a 315/35/17.

Car will be mainly a street car but will see the track.

#2 ·
I run an s366 on a 4.3l v6 and I'd suggest 3500rpm converter. I run a tight 3000 on mine but have a trans brake in my 4r70w. What housing did you go with? You could keep the converter tight and add a quick spool valve or build one for the divided 91.

#4 ·
My trans and converter builder won't build my converter until we can get a better dyno graph. Have you talked to Circle D about it and compared where your power and boost starts to come on at?

I'm really really new to autos in the turbo world and luckily I have a good local builder of both the trans and converter.

#5 ·
You really need the converter with a stall just above the torque peak, if you have enough tire to handle the launching torque. My 6600-6700 stall is high for my engine because my engine is blowing through the converter (it was 5500 at 700 HP and I am WAY over that now), but it still drove fine on the street. It would cruise just over what the gear calculates, it only had about 10% RPM differential at cruise.

If you plan on getting some traction, you might want to stall just above torque peak.

I just now finished swapping my converter for a new one. The new one should stall at 6K hopefully. My engine torque peak is at 5800. The old one is making too much heat during passes. It does not have sprags or a mechanical diode so it runs hot on the street and that costs me a little MPH and ET.

#6 ·
Damn! That's a lot of stall lol. Is that foot brake or trans brake stall? Foot brake mine will go to 2800rpm and build 2-3psi. On the brake it will go to 5300 and build all the boost.

#9 ·