T-5 shifters - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 04-19-2017, 01:06 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (1)
T-5 shifters

I could use help from the voice of experience about T-5 shifters. I am new to tracking this transmission.

I have a refreshed T-5 with what looks like an Econoshift.

I am having two problems with downshifts.

From 4th or 5th to 3rd, the H pattern is pretty narrow and I have trouble finding 3rd. I wind up in 5th instead when I'm trying to accelerate off the apex.

Also, each shift on the shifter kind of "clicks" in, with some resistance. Feels cool on the street, but when I'm trying to downshift into 3rd, sometimes I just can't get in in gear before turn-in. I wish I didn't have that little click-in resistance.

I am use to Getrag boxes with a wider H and a smooth notch.

Is there another brand of shifter that would be wider, or have less click? Or is this just the way the forks shift on a T-5?

Thanks for your time.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 04-19-2017, 02:58 PM

Trader Feedback: (9)
I love my Hurst shifter, short throw from the 90s. But I haven't had to buy a shifter in 20 years so there may be better, more modern options out there.

post #3 of 14 Old 04-19-2017, 04:26 PM

Trader Feedback: (12)
Any of the reputable aftermarket shifters should be good. I have a hurst and like it. I had a steeda tri ax in my cobra and really liked it. My friend had a Pro 5.0cand MGW and they were both good as well.

post #4 of 14 Old 04-19-2017, 09:53 PM

Trader Feedback: (2)