How to replace a power steering pump shaft seal and disassemble a rack. - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum
Go Back   Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum > General Tech Forums > Road Racing/Auto X

Corral.net is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2010, 06:03 AM   #1

Trader Feedback: (29)

How to replace a power steering pump shaft seal and disassemble a rack.

Okay first of all I am not a hydraulic expert. I decided to post this since I saw several people who asked how to replace seals in Rack and pinion. I didn’t know myself and since I have a rack that leaks I was curious if it was feasible. A couple of notes. The Ford shop manual is absolutely necessary for reassembly. There are several critical torque specs and preload. Plus the shop manual has a wonderful exploded view and a step by step procedure for this. I didn’t post the reassembly since I am not performing it.

The rack and pump pictured are trash. I can’t return them for core since the core charge is less than the shipping cost. They will be thrown away. Since they are garbage I didn't bother cleaning them since rags and cleaning stuff cost me a lot of money and I have difficulty disposing of them. I just want to stress that cleanliness is next to godliness with respect to hydraulic systems. Make sure the pump, and rack are pristine before you disassemble.