Serious Voltage Drop - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum
Go Back   Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum > General Tech Forums > General Mustang Tech

Corral.net is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2010, 03:45 PM   #1

Trader Feedback: (0)

Serious Voltage Drop

Hey everyone. I searched the forums with no luck. My battery gauge drops severely if any of the accessories are turned on. When I am idling, the guage read 13-14 volts. Normal. If I turn on the headlights, it drops was down to around 9 until I give it some gas, then it returns to normal as long as I am accelerating. They same goes for pressing the brake pedal. The brake lights coming on causes the same voltage drop. I replaced the battery, alternator, battery cables, and ignition coil. I have not changed the cable that goes from the starter solenoid to the starter. I am an electrician by trade and it is apparent to me that there is a wire(s) with high impedance/resistance. The ones I figured could cause this problem have all been changed out with the exception of the starter wire. Could that be the issue? My previous 5.0 had this exact same issue, but I never got around to trying to fix it. Any ideas? Thanks - Mike.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-07-2010, 03:47 PM   #2

Trader Feedback: (5)

Are you going by the gauge on the dash or have you verified this with a multimeter?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Old 04-07-2010, 04:05 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by fogged306 View Post
Are you going by the gauge on the dash or have you verified this with a multimeter?