Distributor Stator/PIP Sensor R/R - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum
Go Back   Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum > Windsor Tech Forums > 94/95 Tech

Corral.net is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2010, 08:42 PM   #1

Trader Feedback: (1)

Distributor Stator/PIP Sensor R/R

After reading on this site about the issue with our stator/PIP sensor heat soaking and eventually dying on us I decided to replace the sensor first just to see how difficult it was and how long it would last.

I must say that it's really not an involved process, I've been a technician for over 10 years at the same dealership so maybe that is why, but I think even an intermediate mechanically inclined person can do it.

After removing the cap/rotar and such, you are left with a piece that is pressed onto the shaft of the distributor that can be a bit tricky to take off if not done correctly. Since the shaft has splines on it/the wheel as well I marked the located on each with a black sharpie marker. If a press is not available to you, what I did is use 2 small pry bars and keeping them 180* opposite from eachother, gently pried the piece upwards and off of the shaft, I applied very little pressure and voila off it came. From there it was a simple unbolting/removal/install process. The car runs exactly how it should again and I've been very happy with my decision to not replace the whole distributor QUITE yet, granted it would have been a better piece of mind, but I decided to go the $30 route first.

Thank you to everyone that has posted over the years about the diag. process and what to look for! You all made it very streamlined for me.
1995 Black GT
Bbk o/r/x pipe, flowmaster catback, u/d pullies, cold air intake.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links